Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It is basically needless to say that I am in that type of sad mood after you finish a great book but you seriously can’t wait for the next book!

I just finished reading the second book in a trilogy of the Chemical Garden, Fever – by Lauren DeStefano.

Fever book #2

I just have to say, I did judge the first  book by its cover, guilty as charged, I fell in love with the amazing cover from the first book Wither.

Wither

Fever: I really don’t want to give any spoilers away, but basically this is what the trilogy is about.

In a dystopian future, where there is botched effort to create a perfect race has left all males with a lifespan of 25 years, and females with a lifespan of 20 years. Geneticists are seeking a miracle antidote to restore the human race, desperate orphans crowd the population, crime and poverty have skyrocketed, and young girls are being kidnapped and sold as polygamous brides to bear more children.

The main character Rhine, finds herself in the hands of a malicious housemaster and his naive son, who falls deeply in love with Rhine. She only has one thing on her mind. Freedom.

Personally, I find that Rhine’s character is very brave, persistent, strong and intelligent. well this was in the first book at least, in the second one, I was a but disappointed by her selfishness, nonetheless she stays the heroine. All I keep thinking is there is no way I could have made it through what she did.

I give this series 4 out of 5 so far

Trailer for Book 1 WITHER

Trailer for Book 2 FEVER

I seriously can’t wait for the last book! 

B.

